Happy Catacombs: #1 intro (1)

To please the grouches, this is no longer the Hunger Games hook on. Name change.
Code: Z=zia formerly katniss, x=xephyr formerly gale, w=wheata formerly peeta.

Title: The Happy Catacombs #4.1–>6/26/2012

Boring squirrel hunt intro scene *(idea: Z doesn’t hunt anymore, is ptsd, and X is trying to help.)
Z sitting on the doorstep. Kids playing soccer.
X: Hey I caught 2 squirrels. [X Throws down her bow. Z staring out vacantly.]
X: Thought maybe you’d be impressed.
Z: You’re not supposed to hunt. It’s illegal.
X: With your bow? You kidding me? I could probably sell it for 1000 bucks or something.
Z: [nonchalantly] it’s still illegal.
X: OK, fine, it was a trick.
Z: I knew it.
X: I used your bow after I set the trap…
Z: I thought you said you took down your traps!
X: OK that was a trick too. I’m lying OK?
Z: you’re lying right now.
X: Fine, so I bought these little squirrels from the grocery store and had these all plastic wrapped and gutted and stuffed to LOOK like real squirrels…
Z: [stony, upset cool] look, I just don’t want you getting hurt…
[X stares at her unbelievingly for a second, then sits down beside her. fixing with the bow, staring at it, obviously thinking about something else.]
X: [quieter] Do you feel hurt?
Z: [quick, superficial] no.
X: Then why does it seem that way?
Z: I dunno. I did just come back from a war, you know.
X: yeah, I know… but that was 3 months ago. [pause] You have to get up…
Z: I will. someday. I don’t know. I want to, but I don’t know how. [reflectively] Maybe I can’t.
X: Z, that’s not you. You’re a fighter.
Z: [tenses] I was once, yes. [X looks at Z smiling; Z reluctantly smiles back]
X: [gets up, puts down bow, leaving discussion] yeah well. Sorry I lied. I did use your bow. [looks back at Z, walking] X: and I restrung it too! [Z smiling]