Comments on: “The Process” by Cristian Mihai

http://cristianmihai.net/2013/03/27/the-process/#more-2786

Cristian is a Romanian writer & blogger around my age who, much to my happiness, often “likes” my poetry on my blog. Other than that I have no clue who he is. But knowing a lot of Romanians in my town leaves me in no doubt that very talented musicians and artists come from that country. (And my heroes the Wurmbrands!)

Here are some of his quotes which I found very truthful:

There’s one more thing here: I’ve been in the business of writing stories in my head for more than 8 years now. I have “completed” several novels this way. Playing with the story, going back and forth, back and forth, until I know everything there is to know. But I never write those stories – the ones I know everything about, because there’s no motivation for me to write them. Like that thing with the roads less traveled, or something like that.

Also, I used to tell people about my ideas… tell them about the plot and characters, and then I’d lose the drive to actually write the story. Why? Because, in a way, I had done my job. I shared the story with someone. Just one or two people, but I had done my work as a storyteller. Might sound strange to you, by I’d say it’s best not to tell too many people what your story is all about. Just tell them enough to make them curious, that way they’ll keep asking you about it, and you’ll keep writing until you finish it.

I strongly believe that with every story we write we learn more and more about the written word and how to use it. We find that we like to use certain words, that we like to write about certain situations or themes. We find a voice of our own. I know I said it before, but I think this is worth repeating: writing is not about saying something no one else has ever thought of saying, but it’s about saying something in your own voice.